All set for the winter months

Yesterday: cock-a-leekie soup. Today: brownies and chocolate chip cookies. The brownies were from a mix; it’s the only thing I ever make that isn’t from scratch, and I’m not sure why. I mean, I could make them from scratch. I just…don’t. The cookies were from scratch, of course – I just use the Tollhouse recipe, substituting 1/2 cup oats for 1/2 cup flour, and using whole wheat flour instead of white. Finally, the soup recipe I got from Allrecipes.com, but I tweaked it, thus:

Cock-a-leekie Soup (Scottish)

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

3 cups water

3 cups broth

1/2 onion, chopped

1/2 cup barley

2 leeks, white and pale green parts only, chopped

2 fingerling potatoes

1/2 tsp dried thyme

2 tsp dried parsley

1/2 tsp salt

ground black pepper

Directions:

In a soup pot, combine water, broth, chicken (in bite-size pieces), onion, and barley. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 1 hour. Add the potatoes (also in bite-size pieces), leeks and herbs (obviously you can use fresh herbs if you have them on hand; I didn’t. The original recipe also calls for a stalk or two of celery, so you can toss that in at this point if you have it), and salt and pepper. Simmer for another 30 minutes. Eat!

This turned out really well. If I were to make it again, I’d cut down on the barley (or up the water/broth), as it’s very thick. Also, I suspect the soup-eating experience would be enhanced if you could share it with someone who possessed a Scottish accent.

Sorry for the lack of photos; I just can’t stand the yellow cast they get when I take them indoors after dark, and a flash only makes it worse. So it goes.

What I’m reading: The Girls From Ames, Jeffrey Zaslow

What I’m listening to: Highly Refined Pirates, Minus the Bear

2 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

2 responses to “All set for the winter months

  1. Pingback: Simple onion barley soup | IcyDaylight

  2. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

