Two Different Kinds of Exciting

The last CSA pickup of fall was today. I got a pound of carrots, a butternut squash, a pumpkin (!), broccoli, five smallish yellow onions, some mixed potatoes, garlic, and a bunch of turnips.

 

CSA veggies

 

I’m not sure if I can articulate the uncomplicated delight I got every other Thursday when I went to the pickup spot. There was the mystery (what will there be this week?) and the happy coincidence (celery and carrots – just when I needed them to make soup!), and the challenge (I’ve never bought or cooked with turnips before in my life, until today). Granted, I contributed neither labor nor cash to this CSA share; some friends who left New York had set it up, and they generously allowed me to pick up their share.

 

turnips

 

I was excited enough to take pictures, even though it was night and inside and therefore all yellowy-looking.

 

turnip top

 

As I was cutting off the turnip tops, I noticed that this one looked like a baby aloe plant. (Apparently my strange, crooked, oversize aloe plant has spawned a new, baby aloe plant, which I discovered a few days ago. But that has very little to do with turnips.)

 

I cooked the entire bunch of turnips, as well as several of the small potatoes, into a mash with butter, thyme, salt, and half-and-half. I was going to roast the turnips and potatoes to enhance their flavor, but I was working under a time constraint, so I just boiled them till they were soft, drained the water, added about 3 Tbsp butter, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/8 cup half-and-half, and a pinch or two of salt. A few mashes with the potato masher, et voila! Delicious.

 

Meanwhile, I also threw together a minestrone soup, more or less following the recipe in the Moosewood book. I’ll post that up here soon. However, in a completely different category of exciting…


this girl

 

THIS GIRL (the one on the right) is getting MARRIED THIS WEEKEND. As in two days from now. Which is totally surreal.

 

gazebo

 

So it’s back to my hometown (one of them) to be there. Needless to say…more exciting than CSA.

 

I won’t be able to post over the weekend while I’m away, but I can recommend two sites I’ve stumbled upon recently and am a little in love with. One is a food blog called Chocolate & Zucchini, and the other is a webcomic called Questionable Content.

 

‘Tis the season of soups and the decade of weddings.

 

What I’m reading: The Girls From Ames, Jeffrey Zaslow

What I’m listening to: Ursa Major, Third Eye Blind; Say I Am You, The Weepies

Leave a comment

Filed under events, food, recipe

Leave a Reply

