Bay Leaf Blues

My new knife finally arrived! It sliced right through one butternut squash and one pumpkin (“and the next day the caterpillar ate through one piece of chocolate cake and one pickle and one slice of Swiss cheese…”), and I pronounce it a success! I more or less followed this recipe, but I used an entire squash and a whole pumpkin (instead of canned), and I roasted them first instead of boiling them, because I read that roasting them enhances the flavor.

I’m sure that’s true, but it’s a little hard to tell with this batch, because I forgot to remove the bay leaf before pureeing the soup. I still think it tastes okay but I wish I had remembered to take the bay leaf out. Curses!

Please excuse the complete lack of a segue as I transition from soup to audiobooks. Before last weekend, the only audiobook I had ever listened to was Harry Potter, in the car with a friend of mine. (Okay, that is not 100% true. I also listened to about three and a half seconds of the audiobook of The Time Traveler’s Wife. It was traumatic, in a “That’s not what it sounds like in my head!” sort of way. Go ahead and make your mental health joke here.)

I liked Jim Dale’s reading of Harry Potter a lot though; I wanted to get one of the HP audiobooks for the drive down to VA and back, but they were all checked out of the library. I browsed the audiobook stacks, looking for something I’d already read but would enjoy hearing again. (I wanted to be able to focus on driving when necessary and not worry about missing important plot twists, etc.). I ended up leaving with Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray. (That’s going to be my trump card if I am ever in a “Who is the nerdiest?” contest.) Maybe it’s the British accent, but I really liked it; I listened to four discs (of eight), and hope I don’t have to return it before my next roadtrip(s) (Thanksgiving and Friendsgiving, respectively).

Question: How would you be able to tell if a Very Hungry Caterpillar ate through a piece of Swiss cheese?

What I’m reading: The Feast of Love by Charles Baxter

What I’m listening to: A Man of No Importance (soundtrack); The Jam; Jimmy Eat World, Stay On My Side Tonight

Leave a comment

Filed under books, food, recipe

Leave a Reply

