Space Mouse!

Two for two on brunches this weekend! Sunday morning I met some high school friends (one lives in town, the other was visiting) at Cafe Orlin on St. Mark’s. It is delicious and if you live here I highly recommend it.

Afterward we walked up toward Union Square. We saw some creative graffiti on the way.

 

 

I love poetic graffiti. I don’t know what this is from and I’m not going to try to find out. I just like that it’s there.

 

 

Someone does not have a high opinion of television.

 

 

I once saw the following written on a plywood wall in front of a construction site on State Street in Santa Barbara. I didn’t have my camera on me at the time and by the time I went back they’d taken the wall down.

 

if i stand

here long

enough you’ll

come back

won’t u?

 

And now for some levity…

 

 

Enter Space Mouse, stage right! Too bad he looks all angry with the fangs and such. I would have thought a Space Mouse would be much more cheerful-looking.

 

 

Space Mouse! Space Mouse needs theme music. Something jazzy and adventuresome.

 

 

While the musicians are working on Space Mouse’s theme song, the animators can start factoring in Union Square Park Squirrel. Would Space Mouse and Park Squirrel (who needs a better name, I’ll think about it) be allies or enemies?

 

 

Those squirrels are bold, man. Also, squirrels are the only animals I know of that seem to defy the laws of physics routinely. Heaven forbid they should organize themselves. They could achieve world domination before it’s even time to eat brunch. Squirrels are early risers.

 

 

This kind of weather in November is downright unusual, but hey, I’ll take it.

 

 

What I’m reading: America, America by Ethan Canin; One And The Same by Abigail Pogrebin

What I’m listening to: Her Space Holiday, The Young Machines; Jimmy Eat World, Chase This Light; The Traveling Wilburys, Volume 1; The Shins, Oh, Inverted World

What I’m baking: banana bread

Leave a comment

Filed under animals, graffiti

Leave a Reply

