Good With Weird

My only defense – and I’m not sure many other people can truthfully say this – was that I had to read the first book for work. The second, third, and fourth books I read on my own; likewise, I saw the first movie of my own free will, along with accomplices (Marathon Girl and a former roommate of ours). Tonight we went to see the second movie, and if you are still not sure what I am talking about, here’s a hint:

“But the absence of him is everywhere I look. It’s like a huge hole has been punched through my chest. But in a way I’m glad, the pain was the only reminder that he was real.”

“Can you [forgive me]? I hope you can, because, I honestly don’t know how to live without you.”

And if you’re still in the dark…

 

 

Yes, we three contributed to the $230 million+ box office for the second Twilight movie. And you know what? It was fun. They actually did a pretty good job with the material, I think – the second book was not my favorite. Granted, some of us may have laughed at parts that were not intended to be funny (see above dialogue), but the theater was actually fairly empty, so we did not get accosted by angry gangs of thirteen-year-old Robert Pattinson (sorry – Team Edward!) fans afterward. Yet another Monday escaped unscathed!

 

If you’re looking for a movie that is actually billed as a comedy, allow me to recommend Clue (1985), the movie based on the board game. I finally got around to watching it the other night – with Marathon Girl, the Swede, and my mom – and it is really pretty hilarious. Tim Curry as Wadsworth, is fantastic.

 

Wadsworth: Indeed no, sir. I’m merely a humble butler.

Colonel Mustard: What exactly do you do?

Wadsworth: I buttle, sir.

 

Also:

 

Wadsworth: At the start of the evening, Yvette was here, by herself, waiting to offer you all a glass of champagne. I was in the hall. [pause] I know because I was there.

 

Okay, perhaps it is funnier onscreen. So, go watch it! Unless you are in the mood for emotional teen vampire werewolf drama, then go see New Moon.

 

What I’m reading: March, Geraldine Brooks

What I’m listening to: Double Plaidinum and Let’s Talk About Feelings, Lagwagon

Leave a comment

Filed under movies

Leave a Reply

