Primary Colors Soup

I’ve been doing a lot of baking recently (mostly repeat recipes like chocolate chip cookies, biscuits, and oatmeal cookies), but today those leftover potatoes’ number was up: soup! When it’s twenty-three degrees out, soup is pretty much the perfect food to make.

I didn’t plan ahead, so I just used the ingredients I had around, which happened to be:

2 smallish-medium potatoes (yukon gold I think)
1/2 white onion (yellow would work fine)
4 cups broth
1 carrot
1 chicken breast
1 cup frozen peas
2 cups frozen corn
2 Tbsp cream (you could easily leave this out)
salt, pepper, butter

Wash, peel, and cut up potatoes. Put them in a medium saucepan, cover with water, add a dash of salt, cover and bring to a boil. Allow to simmer until potatoes are soft but not falling apart; drain and remove potatoes to a bowl. Add a little butter (and/or olive oil if you like), some salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, in another medium saucepan, melt about 2 Tbsp butter. Chop the onion finely and add it to the pot. Rinse and cut up the chicken breast – I cut mine very small, because chicken is actually not my favorite part of chicken soup, so I like to minimize its presence. Or something. When the onions have turned translucent (about 5 minutes), add the chicken to the pot, stirring occasionally.

In the now-empty potato pot, heat 4 cups broth. Again, I used a bouillon cube; the directions say 1 cube per 2 cups of water, but I used 1 cube for 4 cups. When the broth is warm, add half (2 cups) to the saucepan with the onions and chicken. Now would be a good time to wash, peel, chop, and add the carrot, too – I forgot and added it toward the end.

Add the potatoes, which have been waiting patiently in their bowl, back into their original pot with the remaining 2 cups of broth. Remove from heat and blend with an immersion blender (or however you like). I wanted a creamy base for the soup; if you prefer a clearer broth, just make sure the potatoes are cut into bite-size pieces and skip the blending. I poured some of the broth from the chicken-and-onion pot back into the potato pot to be blended in, then added the cream.

Combine the contents of both pots and add in the frozen peas and corn. Stir together, add salt and pepper to taste. Heat through, and enjoy!

What I’m reading: The Unnamed, Joshua Ferris; Housekeeping vs. the Dirt, Nick Hornby
What I’m listening to: Road to Ruin, the Ramones; The Best of Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

1 Comment

Filed under food, recipe

One response to “Primary Colors Soup

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

