Sanity Prevails

For once. I got ready to go play frisbee, resolutely ignoring the 38-degrees-and-raining conditions, and even left the house, and got half a block before I had an epiphany: THIS IS MENTAL. TURN AROUND AND GO HOME. So I did. Not my most hard-core moment, but it does mean I have a few hours to fill and can share more of yesterday’s cooking exploits.

Yesterday was 45 degrees and exuberantly sunny, and even though I’ve already shared the Israeli salad recipe, I couldn’t resist taking more pictures when I made it again. The tomatoes almost look like they’re glowing.

‘Cause glowing tomatoes, that’s not scary at all.

And this red onion – it’s enough to make you cry. (Ha, get it? Because when you cut an onion…oh, never mind.)

Salad.

Cast of characters: feta cheese, hummus, salad, pita. A.K.A. lunch!

But it wouldn’t have been a very productive day if all I did was go grocery shopping, loiter in coffeeshops with friends, and made a salad I’ve made before, no. I had to make a quiche also. (By definition, any day you make a quiche is a productive day. According to the rule that I have just made up.)

This quiche is really easy – and it’s even easier if you use a pre-made crust, which I would have, except that I thought I had one in the freezer and that turned out to be untrue. That’s okay though, because it gave me a chance to use my new food processor! (Marathon Girl, see those spinning blades? Back away slowly…)

Ingredients

For the crust
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp sugar
1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter
6 Tbsp ice water

For the filling
1 1/2 cups grated cheese (I used cheddar, but you can also use gruyere or pretty much any cheese you can grate, or a mixture of cheeses)
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp powdered mustard
1/4 tsp cayenne (or less, take it easy if you don’t like it too spicy)
cooked veggies (I used broccoli, tomatoes, and also some Morningstar fake bacon, which I do realize is not a vegetable, thank you. Well actually it’s probably TVP – textured vegetable protein – so there. Vegetable.)

If you don’t have a pre-made crust, make the crust first, as the dough will need to chill in the fridge for an hour. Combine the dry ingredients, then cut in the cold butter. If you don’t have a food processor, use a pastry cutter, two knives, or your hands (but NOT one knife and one hand) to work the butter into the dry ingredients. Then sprinkle the ice water over the dough and use a spatula to make it into a ball; add more ice water if necessary. Wrap the dough in wax paper and stick it in the fridge to chill.

While the dough is in the fridge, grate the cheese and set aside. Chop and cook your chosen vegetables (and TVP strips) so they are ready to add. Preheat the oven to 375. Press the chilled dough into a pie pan (you could roll it out with a rolling pin, but I was lazy and neglected to do so, and it turned out fine anyway).

Sprinkle the grated cheese onto the pie crust. Place the cooked veggies on top of the cheese, evenly distributed. Beat the remaining ingredients together (eggs, milk and cream, spices) and pour carefully over the veggies and cheese; the liquid may come right up to the brim. Slide the quiche into the oven and cook for 45 minutes, checking and rotating halfway through. Mine never cook this quickly, so add time as necessary in 10-minute increments. The quiche should be relatively firm and not too jiggly.

Also it should be delicious.

2 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

2 responses to “Sanity Prevails

  1. Pingback: Recent Recipe Roundup | IcyDaylight

  2. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

