Other Trees

Today I received an e-mail with the subject line, “We’ve found your relatives in other trees.” I saw that it was from a genealogy service, so I figured out pretty quickly that it meant family trees and not, hey, please come get your cousin out of our sugar maple, his yelling is really disturbing the birds.

After this stellar beginning, the e-mail then went on to inform me that “[My father’s name], your father, appears in 1 other tree” and also, “[My father’s name], your aunt/uncle, appears in 1 other tree.” Puzzling, since we’re not from West Virginia, and even if we were…you know what, no, not going there. Suffice to say I won’t be climbing any trees anytime soon.

We’re a little short on trees around here anyway, with the Discarded Christmas Tree being one of the most common types. And they’re more fun for jumping over than for climbing.

What I’ve been reading: Let the Great World Spin, Colum McCann; Cyanide & Happiness, Kris, Rob, Matt, & Dave
What I’ve been listening to: Chopin; Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds; Dashboard Confessional, The Places You Have Come to Fear the Most; Joshua Radin; Ani DiFranco, Little Plastic Castles

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

