Paperback Reader

Barring snowstorm #278 of the year, I am flying to Ireland in less than twelve hours! I am going with my old friend Erin (the girl who taught me how to tie my shoes, as a matter of fact), who came up from a very snowy DC last night.

As usual, it took me about 15 minutes to pack for the trip, and several hours to mull over and finally decide which books to bring. Here are the ones that are coming along:

The Secrets of a Fire King: Stories, by Kim Edwards (author of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter)

Winter in Madrid, by C.J. Sansom – a Hanukkah present from Dad

Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman – borrowed from my roommate, on the emphatic recommendation of Caitlin at NeverwhereCalling.

Persuasion, by Jane Austen – more than one friend has said that as much as she loved Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion is her favorite. Erin is bringing this, and I plan to purloin it temporarily.

And, so we’re not relying entirely on printouts from Google and the kindness of strangers, Lonely Planet’s Ireland. It’s just now occurring to me that a travel guide to Ireland ought to have lush green hillsides on the cover and not what looks like tidepools, but it seems pretty useful, so here’s hoping! It’s a small country, we can’t get too lost…

What I’ve been reading: The Rest Is Noise, Alex Ross; The Secrets of a Fire King, Kim Edwards
What I’ve been listening to: songs from Hair, Once On This Island, Wicked, A Man of No Importance

1 Comment

Filed under books

One response to “Paperback Reader

  1. Ben

    Neverwhere is a fantastic book. It’s one of the few books I read in high school, when I felt like reading was a chore. If I were a faster reader and could thus afford to re-read books (instead of chipping away at my list of unread ones), I’d definitely read it again.

Leave a Reply

