Oh, hi, New York

I returned from Ireland last Thursday in the middle of (another) snowstorm. Passengers applauded when the plane landed; snow was flying horizontally by the windows.

I took Friday off of work and had a very productive day, doing laundry and grocery shopping and the filing I’d been putting off for, oh, four months. What with all the going in and out I figured I’d shovel off the steps, but of course it continued to snow all day.

Already filling in my footsteps.

Did I mention that it snowed a lot? But I’m not going to try to rival the Washington Post for snow puns.

On Union Street, on the way to the co-op.

On Sunday some of us enjoyed a game of snow ultimate.

And some of us sculpted a rabbit out of snow.

And proceeded to carry it around the neighborhood. Notice the contrast between the nice clean snow rabbit and the dirty street snow.

Ireland pictures – including much interesting signage! – coming up soon.

What I’ve been reading: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, Parliament of Whores by P.J. O’Rourke, The Secrets of a Fire King by Kim Edwards, Winter in Madrid by C.J. Sansom, The Rest is Noise by Alex Ross
What I’ve been listening to: XO, Elliott Smith; Five Year Diary, Chamberlain; Reconstruction Site, The Weakerthans; As the Crow Flies, Crow’s Foot; And Out Come the Wolves, Rancid; Magical Mystery Tour, the Beatles

Leave a comment

Filed under ultimate, unusual

Leave a Reply

