Shipping up to Boston (and back)

Those who do not already know this might not be entirely surprised to learn that I am going to library school.

More specifically, I’ll be starting classes at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College in Boston, MA, in June. Which means I’ll be leaving New York. (More on that TK.) (Yes, library school, where Wikipedia probably isn’t considered a valid reference source.)

But it is not quite time to say Goodbye to All That; I have a whole twenty (20) days left here! I did, however, nip up to Boston on Tuesday night, in order to attend orientation on Wednesday. I took zero pictures (except for one with my phone, of my future housemates’ adorable bunny), but you all know what college buildings and classrooms look like, right?

The orientation session was pretty good, despite its awkward mid-week scheduling. Various people talked at us in a variety of engaging, amusing, and informative ways. During lunch I made a new friend, and we went down to the labyrinthine basement to get our school ID cards together. Later, we dug into the binders with all the student evaluations of each course and professor; one thing I learned in undergrad was to that a good professor can make a dull subject interesting, and a bad one can make an interesting subject dull. Act accordingly!

My new friend went off to meet with her advisor, and I wandered into the student lounge to wait for my advising appointment. There I met a current student; a large carpenter bee buzzing against the window served as a conversation starter, and then I noticed she was reading Run by Ann Patchett (read it, read it now, Ann Patchett is fantastic), and so we talked for a while about that. She was also willing to share her some of her Simmons experience with me, which was incredibly helpful. Way to go, Simmons, for having friendly and helpful students!

On the bus ride back to New York Wednesday night I was able to finish Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (originally titled Men Who Hate Women in Swedish), which I’d started on the way up on Tuesday. While I wouldn’t recommend two 4+ hour bus rides in a 28-hour period, it’s nice to be able to zip through a 480-page book in two days. I was able to do this due to the fortunate quirk that, although I am often afflicted with motion sickness on planes, I can read on buses. For this I thank every single lucky star, and also the planets, for good measure.

What I’ve been reading: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson; Lucky Girls, Nell Freudenberger; The Girl Who Played With Fire, Stieg Larsson

What I’ve been listening to: Moon Safari, Air; Let It Be and Tim, the Replacements; Singles Going Steady, the Buzzcocks; Staring at the Sea, The Cure; And Out Come the Wolves, Rancid; Everything Sucks, the Descendents; New Day Rising, Husker Du; The Ultimate Collection, The Kinks

Leave a comment

Filed under adventure, books, elsewhere, events

Leave a Reply

