Warning: Contains Nuts

During Passover, my mom sent me a recipe for “Spicy Nut Cookies.” Here it is:

2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup sugar
½ tsp. ground cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 cups ground walnuts
2 ½ cups ground almonds

And her instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly grease cookie sheets.

In a bowl, combine eggs, sugar, cinnamon, and cloves.  Mix in ground nuts to make a dough that is easy to work with.  Drop by teaspoons onto cookie sheets.  (Recipe says roll them into balls, but why?)

Bake  10-12 minutes or until bottoms turn golden brown.  Cool on sheets for 10 minutes.  Remove carefully and cool on rack.  Seal tightly.

Makes about 4 dozen.

*

I love the commentary (“but why?”). We both belong to that set of people who needs to know the reason for doing something before they do it. And in this case, spooning the dough onto the sheet without rolling it into balls did not seem to have a detrimental effect.

As it happened, I ended up altering the recipe slightly to fit with what I had on hand, thus:

1 cup almonds
1 1/2 cups walnuts
about 1/2 cup cashews
about 1 cup pecans

I ground all of the nuts into nut flour in my food processor; this recipe is ridiculously easy if you have a food processor, but I’d think twice if I had to chop all those nuts by hand.


I also added a pinch of cardamom, in addition to the cinnamon and cloves. The recipe says “spice cookies” after all.


The recipe made 28, if I recall correctly (and if I counted correctly in the first place…two sheets of 12 each plus one sheet of just 4), so closer to 2 dozen than 4 dozen, and they aren’t very big! Initial reviews are positive, though. (Smaller cookies = less guilt when you eat three of them. Or six.)

What I’m reading: Angela’s Ashes, Frank McCourt
What I’m listening to: The Kinks, that indie mix, and “Fuck ‘Em” by Shel Silverstein


1 Comment

Filed under food, recipe

One response to “Warning: Contains Nuts

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

