Pumpkin Muffins

I’ve had a can of pumpkin in the back of my kitchen cabinet since last fall. It moved with me up to Massachusetts, and despite the fact that it is not seasonal at all, I decided to make pumpkin muffins anyway.

I started with the Moosewood Muffin recipe, which has suggestions for all sorts of variations. I ended up making half pumpkin apple, half pumpkin chocolate chip, and subbing in some oats in place of some of the flour. Here are most of the ingredients:

And the ones I forgot, like sugar:

And oats:

Whole oats are best if you have them.

I put chopped apples in half the muffins, and chocolate chips in the other half. (Chocolate chips AND apples in the same muffin would have been overkill, right? See, I do have SOME limits when it comes to baking…and “pumpkin-oatmeal-apple-chocolate chip” is too long of a name for a muffin.)

Fill the muffin cups 2/3 full (as a general rule – unless the recipe says otherwise). These muffins didn’t rise very much, but they passed the taste test!

“When are they gonna be READY?” -Oliver
(Note: Just to be clear, Oliver was not included in the muffin recipe. No bunnies were harmed during the making of these muffins.)

Ingredients:
1 15-oz can pumpkin
6 Tbsp butter, room temperature
1/2 – 3/4 cup sugar
1 egg*
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup whole oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 small apple, chopped
handful (1/4 cup?) semi-sweet chocolate chips

*If you don’t already know how to crack an egg one-handed, watch the movie Sabrina (1954, Audrey Hepburn, William Holden, Humphrey Bogart). Actually, watch it anyway.

After you’ve watched Sabrina, preheat the oven to 350 F. In a large bowl, mix the first six ingredients. Then add in the dry ingredients (the next six on the list), and stir till just combined.

If you’re making all apple or all chocolate chip, go ahead and fold those into the batter; because I was doing half of each, I filled the muffin cups 2/3 full of batter, added the chips and apple on top, and stirred them in with a spoon.

These take about 30 minutes in the oven; check and rotate them halfway through baking. A fork or toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean. Moosewood says this makes 12, but apparently I tampered with the recipe sufficiently that it made 18.

Unseasonal, but delicious! They also freeze well. I think.

What I’m reading: The Master and Margarita, Mikhail Bulgakov
What I’m listening to: Let’s Face It and Medium Rare, the Mighty Mighty Bosstones

1 Comment

Filed under animals, food, recipe

One response to “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

