Delicious, eh?

Honestly, I didn’t hear “eh” too much in Toronto, and I like the Canadian accent. It’s subtle but noticeable in words like “sorry,” “about,” and “tomorrow,” which, incidentally, is the name of a Hot Rod Circuit album (Sorry About Tomorrow). Now I really wish I had asked a Canadian to say the name of the album out loud. Missed opportunity!

Accents aside, the purpose of this post is: food! Last Thursday evening, we threw together a squash tart (which I tried to recreate last night, less successfully) and a pasta salad.

We roasted pieces of fresh butternut squash in the toaster oven, mashed them up, and spread the squash over several layers of phyllo dough. Then we sprinkled goat cheese (or was it feta?) over the top.

Meanwhile, we cooked some fresh spinach in a pan with a little bit of butter, minced garlic, chopped parsley, and sundried tomatoes.

Then we tossed the spinach together with some rice pasta, olive oil, and balsamic.

Yum.

I made my own version of the tart at home last night, adding in some spinach, but somehow it wasn’t as good. Food made with a friend tastes better, perhaps? Or else it just needed more salt.

Or more pastry.

They can’t all be winners.

However, after the tart, I adapted a recipe from Martha Stewart’s Cookie Book, and my tastebuds deemed it a resounding success. I was looking for a gingersnap or gingerbread sort of cookie with which I could use my chestnut paste (acquired in a cheese shop in Toronto) to make sandwich cookies. I started with the recipe for Gingersnap Raspberry Sandwich Cookies and made several changes, ending up with this:

Ingredients
3/4 cup butter (unsalted, room temp
3/4 cup white sugar (more for rolling/coating)
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon (+)
1 Tbsp ground ginger
1/4 cup molasses
1 (scant) Tbsp maple syrup
1 egg
chestnut paste

Preheat oven to 375 F. Cream butter and sugar; add in molasses and egg. Add flour and spices gradually. Roll dough into balls (heaping teaspoon size worked best), and roll in a shallow bowl of the extra sugar to coat. Place at least 2″ apart on greased baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Let cookies cool on rack, then spread paste (or jam) on one cookie, and sandwich another on top. Sandwich cookies are best eaten the same day; they’ll keep longer individually, and you can add the chestnut paste or raspberry jam before eating.

I like these even more than the molasses spice cookies from New Best Recipe!

What I’m reading: This Book Is Overdue! by Marilyn Johnson
What I’m listening to: Blonde on Blonde, Bob Dylan

2 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

2 responses to “Delicious, eh?

  1. Pingback: The Living Kitchen | IcyDaylight

  2. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

