Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

I cannot resist rhubarb. It’s a weird weakness, yes, but I see those bright pink-fading-to-green stalks and I know that simply combining them with strawberries in pretty much any form will create something magical…or just especially tasty. (Same thing.) Also, cashiers at the grocery store (and this happened at the co-op too) always have to double-check: “Rhubarb…?” they say in the same doubtful tone. To which I say:

Well, not really. Usually I just say, “Yes, it’s rhubarb.” But maybe I should print this out and carry it around in my wallet so that I CAN do that when my rhubarb and I are confronted with dubious expressions.

In case you can’t tell, I’m also rather taken with the word “rhubarb” itself, and am working that in here as many times as possible.

So anyway, here’s what you need (amounts are the amounts I used today; feel free to adjust*):

Rhubarb (2 stalks)
Strawberries (about a pint)
Sugar (about 3/4 cup, divided)
Lemon juice (1 tsp)
Flour (1/2 cup)
Oats (1/2 cup)
Salt (1/2 tsp)
Butter (about 6 Tbsp)

*Here’s a little secret: conventional wisdom will tell you that you can improvise all you like with cooking, but with baking, you have to be precise. Now, it’s good to be pretty precise, but that doesn’t mean you can’t alter recipes! As an old acquaintance used to say, “Have fun, be careful…”

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Chop the rhubarb into 1/2″ pieces (no need to use a ruler, that’s just to give you an idea). Quarter or slice the strawberries. Toss the berries and rhubarb with about 1/4 cup sugar and the lemon juice (I do this in the tin – a 9″ round in this case – that I’m going to bake it in). In a small bowl, combine the remaining sugar, the salt, flour, oats, and cold chopped butter. When you’ve achieved a crumbly sort of texture, sprinkle the topping over the berry and rhubarb mixture in the pan, and bake for about 30 minutes. Should get golden brown and a little bubbly. Allow to cool (a bit – like apple crisp, it’s delicious warm with vanilla ice cream on top!).

And while we’re on the subject of Things That Are Tasty, I saw these today:

WHAT.

Who knew such decadence existed?! And why didn’t I know about this till now? And who was the brilliant genius who put these things together in jars? Many questions, few answers.

1 Comment

Filed under food, recipe

One response to “Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

