Marginalia II

Professor quotes
On separate listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) for East and West Berlin: “This is referring, of course, to what happened.”

On main subject headings and subdivisions: “For my purposes, rules may not be damned.”

On alphabetical listing: “The filing is bizarre…Don’t expect history to be arranged logically.”

On the topical facet of Faceted Application of Subject Terminology (FAST): “And that’s a very big bucket.”

Classmate quotes
On finding an example of police relations with local populations: “Let’s find something that’s NOT about Rodney King.”

On using the LCSH: “My brain is melting.”

Drawings
-a tree (or “tree structure”)
-a “giant f—ing iceberg”
-a slot machine (2 cherries and an apple)

More marginalia to come! Rest assured I do take actual notes as well.

What I’m reading: The Lazarus Project, Aleksandar Hemon; The Stupidest Angel, Christopher Moore (audiobook)
What I’m listening to: Interventions & Lullabies, The Format; “Moon River,” Audrey Hepburn and Henry Mancini

1 Comment

Filed under school

One response to “Marginalia II

  1. I really enjoy this Marginalia series of yours, my dear. Especially because it reminded me of the Rodney King thing, which may be the funniest thing I’ve ever said in my life…or at least my funniest response to something involving LCSH.

Leave a Reply

