Green Tomatoes

I found this new “greenscale” setting on my camera – cool, right?

Actually, this is untrue. I can probably shoot in black-and-white, and if I had Photoshop I could probably mess with the hue and value and all that to make “greenscale,” but in point of fact, these are just unripe tomatoes.

I was very happy to see them appear, though; I was worried they weren’t going to. My friend Mr. A gave me three tomato seedlings a while back, which I planted, and they grew like Jack’s magic beanstalk – but this, in my experience, does not necessarily mean that tomatoes are forthcoming. Last year I had a tomato plant that grew to at least five feet, possibly six – it did get taller than me, I think – and made some flowers but never a single tomato. It was indoors, which may have been part of the problem, but it was still a little disappointing.

Not so this year! Little yellow flowers appeared first, then these guys. Looks like two different varieties – some are more oval-shaped (Roma?) and some rounder (cherry?). The third seedling isn’t doing much, but in all fairness I have not been religious about watering them, though we have had some impressive rainstorms over the past month or so.

I’m not sure whether I’m going to leave them here – in which case I will not be around come harvest time – or dig them up and take them with me to Somerville. The Great Transplant (i.e. moving, again) occurs next weekend, which means I need to finish up a final paper, cobble together a PowerPoint presentation (should be fun, haven’t used that program since high school), and, oh yeah…pack.

What I’ve been reading: Faithful Place, Tana French; Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte (audiobook, BBC Radio), A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini (audiobook)

What I’ve been listening to: The Ultimate Collection, The Kinks; Doolittle and Surfer Rosa, The Pixies; Remain in Light, Talking Heads; Bach’s Cello Suites, Yo-Yo Ma; Mendelssohn’s Songs Without Words, Daniel Barenboim

Leave a comment

Filed under plants

Leave a Reply

