Accidental Thanksgiving Pastry

What I set out to do was make something similar to the butternut squash and goat cheese pastry I’d made with my friend in Toronto in May. I had a sweet potato that needed to be used, and the phyllo dough in the freezer, and the goat cheese in the fridge. So I set about putting it all together, but as soon as I poured a little molasses into the bowl with the cooked chunks of sweet potato, I knew I was going to have to change my plan. (What do you know – molasses in July is not as slow as molasses in January.)

I put the goat cheese back in the fridge, and got the marshmallows out of the cabinet instead (I had them on hand for s’mores). I’m not sure if marshmallows and phyllo dough have every been combined before – it was definitely a first for me – but it pretty much turned out all right!

Accidental Thanksgiving pastry. In July.

What I’m reading: Juliet, Naked, Nick Hornby; An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England, Brock Clarke (audiobook)
What I’m listening to: The Best of Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

