Slacker.

Sorry sorry sorry. I was on vacation, I had whole hours with no real plans and nothing to do, and did I catch up on blogging? Did I share with you post-haste all the excellent signage I have been photographing, in libraries and bookstores and elsewhere? I did not. I am a slacker. What did I do instead?

I re-read Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games and Catching Fire in preparation for the release of the third and final book in the trilogy, Mockingjay, which comes out August 24. I don’t know, I guess there are grown-up things to get excited about and look forward to instead, but…I don’t know what they are. So I still get excited about new young adult (YA) books. And I hold that the best YA books are well written and creative and ought to appeal to all ages.

Personally, I can’t wait for Mockingjay. I can’t remember anticipating a book release this much since Audrey Niffenegger’s Her Fearful Symmetry, and the only reason I haven’t begged an early copy of this one is that I don’t know anyone at Scholastic. I’ll just have to wait with everyone else.

And I enjoy waiting about as much as Inigo Montoya.

What I’ve been reading: The Hunger Games and Catching Fire Suzanne Collins; Birds Without Wings, Louis de Bernieres; Forever Young: Photographs of Bob Dylan, Douglas R. Gilbert
What I’ve been listening to: Funeral, Arcade Fire

4 Comments

Filed under books, elsewhere

4 responses to “Slacker.

  1. mom

    so i have never heard of these books because i am no longer a young adult?
    should i regress, or just read them anyway?

  2. Caitlin

    I loved Hunger Games, couldn’t put it down, but I haven’t had the chance to get my hands on any of the other books yet and it’s killing me.

    • I just went to a bookstore and read the second one! It only takes about 3 hours. I felt slightly immoral but it isn’t out in paperback yet and I have my no-buying-hardcovers rule…

Leave a Reply

