Science for Hungry People

It’s really no good preparing posts ahead of schedule if you then forget to post them when you meant to. And yes, I know I can schedule them to go up whenever I want, but I didn’t do that this time. Anyway, here’s a belated post about some of the food I made while I was in California. Oh wait, now I remember why I didn’t put it up, I was waiting for the pizza and cookie pictures (not the same thing. But…pizza cookie? Hmm…).

*

“Baking is wonderful! It’s like science for hungry people!” -Hannelore (QC)

I didn’t spend all my vacation time reading; I cooked and baked a lot too. (Wait, this sounds an awful lot like my regular life. I guess that’s a good thing…?)

Philly Soft Pretzels, again upon request:

And a peach crisp, because I couldn’t remember the cobbler recipe off the top of my head, and a crisp/crumble topping is always easy to throw together:

It was good. But oh, I urge you, I implore you…make the cobbler. [Insert unintelligible too-delicious-for-speech sounds here.]

Pizza from scratch, also upon request:

Provolone and mozzarella (try putting the cheese on the bottom! Rearranging the order of things really shouldn’t have an effect on the taste, but somehow it does).

Okay, the sauce was not from scratch, it was marinara from a jar. But I added Italian herbs.

Pizza #1 had sauce on bottom and cheese on top like a normal pizza; toppings included black olives, mushrooms, red bell pepper, and basil. Pizza #2 had cheese on bottom, sauce on top, and had olives, peppers, basil, and possibly something else I’m forgetting. This is a great dinner if you plan ahead (dough needs to rise for about 2 hours). It goes in the oven for only about 10 minutes or so (at 500 F). If you’re using fresh basil, add it when there’s only a minute or two left to go in the oven.

Finally, peanut butter chip cookies:

Because I saw peanut butter chips in the pantry. I just used the usual Tollhouse recipe for chocolate chip cookies, which I happen to have memorized. Adding a tablespoon or two of peanut butter would have improved them, but I didn’t think of it till after.

*

And that concludes yet another post about food. Now I’m back in Massachusetts, the greatest Commonwealth in the union, and excited to play a two-day ultimate frisbee tournament this weekend…where food will consist of bagels, bananas, and gallons of Gatorade.

What I’ve been reading: Traffic, Tom Vanderbilt; The Five Love Languages, Gary Chapman; Sharp Objects, Gillian Flynn
What I’ve been listening to: The Smiths and Louder Than Bombs, The Smiths; Goldfly, Guster; Joy Division and New Order

Leave a comment

Filed under elsewhere, food, recipe

Leave a Reply

