Brownies From Scratch

Monday I made these dark chocolate brownies, with only one modification; instead of white chocolate chunks, I threw in a couple handfuls of bittersweet (60% cacao) chocolate chips, and sprinkled some chopped-up Andes Candies mints on top (well, half the top; the roommate belongs to that unfathomable subset of people who stubbornly persist in disliking the mint-and-chocolate combination, and I took this bizarre preference into consideration).

It was cool, gray, and drizzly again, much like Sunday, a little preview of fall weather – and a perfect day to stay in, read, and bake. I remembered that I had several ounces of unsweetened Baker’s chocolate in the cabinet and decided to start with that; I did a quick search on Epicurious and found the recipe above. Then I pulled out my New Best Recipe and read the three (3) pages relating how they produced the perfect brownie through trial-and-error/scientific experimentation, and why you MUST use cake flour instead of all-purpose flour…yada yada yada. Then I went ahead and made the recipe from Epicurious and they turned out just fine.

Better than fine, in fact. Yum. I think this may have been the first time I’ve made brownies from scratch; despite the fact that I bake everything else from scratch, I just didn’t bake brownies growing up, and ever since I discovered the Ghiradelli brownie mix, well…that seemed pretty unbeatable. (It’s still a pretty good option, if you don’t want to go through the steps of melting chocolate and butter, whisking the egg and sugar, etc. But really, these were pretty easy!)

What I’m reading: Little Bird of Heaven, Joyce Carol Oates
What I’m listening to: Clarity, Jimmy Eat World

1 Comment

Filed under food, recipe

One response to “Brownies From Scratch

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

