Anyone else notice this?

I just got the new Arcade Fire album, The Suburbs, and have been listening to it a lot over the weekend. I liked it so much right from the first listen that it didn’t even really need to grow on me, but it has anyway – to the point where I like it better than Funeral. (That’s probably sacrilege to anyone who bought and grew attached to each album as it came out, but I acquired them relatively close together in time, and neither is associated with a particular time in my life; they don’t have what I’ll call the “emotional time travel effect,” and therefore I can be more…objective?)

Anyway, something I noticed right away is that there’s a bit of musical phrasing in “Ready to Start” (track two) that is practically identical to a guitar part in Sleater-Kinney’s “Dance Song ’97” from their 1997 album Dig Me Out. If you have both songs, you can hear it most clearly at 1:52 in “Ready to Start” and 0:12 in “Dance Song ’97.”

I’m certainly not up in arms about this – if the Arcade Fire are Sleater-Kinney fans, then I’d guess this was either unconscious or an homage; if they aren’t, and have never heard the song, well…weird coincidence. I doubt it was intentionally lifted, though, and beyond that I can’t really say – I’d be out of my depth trying to write about plagiarism in pop music. (Especially in light of Exhibit A from Axis of Awesome.)

What I’ve been reading: Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins
What I’ve been listening to: The Suburbs, Arcade Fire

1 Comment

Filed under music, random

One response to “Anyone else notice this?

  1. I don’t know about the sleater kinney similarty, but i love this album. it’s catchy and fun but also the lyrics are really “speaking to me” these days. I can’t get enough of it!

    miss you!
    Molly

Leave a Reply

