September

As you may have gathered, it’s been a bit busy lately. Fortunately Hurricane Earl didn’t make much of an appearance, but the visit to Cape Cod seems like a long time ago already; I’m heading into my second week of classes, the apartment has been plagued by technology glitches (apparently Time Warner and Comcast are in cahoots against me, HEAVEN FORBID I should ever experience consistent access to the internet, WHO KNOWS what would happen then?), and somewhere in there was Rosh Hashanah, and a two-day frisbee tournament in Lancaster, MA. Also, my startup disk has been sending me dire warning messages, so I haven’t been loading all my pictures onto the computer recently. Just cleared some more space, though, so photos will return soon.

In the meantime, fall is here. I think we’re done with the days of 90-degree heat (hallelujah), and today was actually cool and overcast (read: jeans and sweatshirt weather! The best kind of weather). I’m not sure whether it’s the weather or school beginning again, but September brings on an introspective mood. Pieces of poems that floated through my head today:


your slightest look will easily unclose me…
(i do not know what it is about you that closes
and opens; only something in me understands…
-e.e. cummings, “somewhere i have never travelled”

…it is not news that we live in a world
where beauty is unexplainable
and suddenly ruined
and has its own routines. We are often far
from home in a dark town, and our griefs
are difficult to translate into a language
understood by others.
-Charlie Smith, “The Meaning of Birds”


Oh do not take from me
What I have learned so slowly. You are wrong
If anything at all can move you so
To homesickness…
For that is wrong, if anything is wrong:
Not to increase the freedom of a loved one
By all the freedom that you find in you.
And everywhere we love, we have but this:
To let each other go; since holding on
Is easy, and we don’t have to learn it first.
-Rainer Maria Rilke, “Requiem for a Woman,” translated by Andy Gaus

What I’ve been reading: The Imperfectionists, Tom Rachman; Piglet Is Entirely Surrounded By Water, A. A. Milne; The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society, Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer (again); The Piano Tuner, Daniel Mason

What I’ve been listening to: Stateside, Andrew Norsworthy; Idan Raichel and the Idan Raichel Project; Bach Cello Suites by Yo-Yo Ma

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

