Thanks, Basil Plant!

My basil plant was a big contributor to yesterday’s lunch.

Though in retrospect I ought to have chopped it a little more finely.

Thanks, basil!

Thanks also, Jars of Stuff!

Pesto Pasta (adaptable)

1 cup brown rice pasta shells, cooked 14-16 minutes, drained, tossed with olive oil
2 roma tomatoes, chopped
handful of basil, chopped
fresh mozzarella, chopped or diced into small cubes
black olives, sliced (optional; they don’t really “belong” here, but I like them.)
red bell pepper, diced
2 Tbsp pesto
1-2 Tbsp bruschetta (optional; I just happened to have some in the fridge, left over from a dinner party, so I added some as an experiment)

Toss all ingredients in with the pasta, stir, and let sit for a few minutes to let everything meld together. Eat.

What I’ve been reading: The House of Sleep, Jonathan Coe; How the Irish Saved Civilization, Thomas Cahill
What I’ve been listening to: The Jam, The Replacements, The Smiths, Arcade Fire, Andrew Norsworthy

2 Comments

Filed under food, plants, recipe

2 responses to “Thanks, Basil Plant!

  1. I have two basil plants, I could never cook without fresh basil… it’s the best!!!

  2. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

