Read Banned Books!

This week is Banned Books Week! If you visit your local library, you might see a special shelf or exhibit of frequently challenged books; if there’s no special display, you can find a list from here. I was pleased to see that I’d already read six of the top ten most frequently challenged books of 2009. From my school library’s display, I also picked up a copy of The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton; I’d heard about it, but somehow missed it when I was younger. I read it today, and it was fantastic (and now I know where the phrase “Stay gold, Ponyboy” comes from). It reminded me a little bit of Catcher in the Rye (but in a good way – I’m not a huge Catcher fan. Catcher is also “banned,” by the way) and Ordinary People (which I loved, and which I’m pretty sure has also been challenged routinely).

Celebrate intellectual freedom! Read a book!

What I’ve been reading: The Outsiders, S.E. Hinton
What I’ve been listening to: Little Plastic Castle, Ani DiFranco; Emblems, Matt Pond PA; Red Letter Days, The Wallflowers

Leave a comment

Filed under books, events, library

Leave a Reply

