Rhubarb

I’m sure this has happened to everyone: there is some leftover rhubarb at work, so you take it home, then you have to decide what to do with it. Right?

Huh. Anyway, that’s what happened to me. I had hoped that I had some frozen strawberries stashed in the freezer that I had forgotten about, but no such luck – only blackberries and a few peach slices. Strawberry and rhubarb is a sublime combination, but I figured blackberries and peaches would have to do, because I did not want to join in the Thanksgiving madness surely occurring at the grocery store today.

So, I used the same crust recipe as for the cranberry pecan pie:

1 stick melted butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup flour
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt

And spread that over a layer of chopped fresh rhubarb, frozen blackberries, and frozen peaches tossed with 1 tsp lemon juice and 1-2 Tbsp organic sugar. (I only mention that the sugar was organic because its slightly less fine texture adds a little extra crunchiness to the pie.)

I baked it for about 40-45 minutes – the fruit probably doesn’t need quite so long, but the crust does – and ate a slice warm with vanilla ice cream.

It came out just as well as you’d expect, considering it was just an excuse to use up the rhubarb. It would have been better with strawberries, but it was still pretty good! It’s hard to go wrong with the fruit + pie crust formula.

What I’m reading: The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Anne Fadiman
What I’m listening to: a mix for a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

