Friendsgiving

Some friends from college have this tradition called Friendsgiving: every year, the weekend after the weekend after Thanksgiving, we all get together and have Thanksgiving again, but with friends (thus, Friendsgiving). There is always a Turducken wrapped in bacon (Turducken = turkey stuffed with a duck stuffed with a chicken), and the rest is potluck-style. Miraculously, we nearly always end up with a great distribution of savory and sweet dishes. After bringing savory dishes for the past few years (corn and wild rice casserole; pumpkin soup), this year I decided to try making a pumpkin cheesecake. I followed the recipe from my trusty New Best Recipe, except instead of the graham cracker crust they recommended, I used a gingersnap crust from Epicurious (2 cups ground gingersnaps, 6 Tbsp butter). The crust was easy, thanks to the food processor, but I have to say that this cheesecake was one of the more labor-intensive and high-maintenance recipes I’ve ever made, involving hours of preparation and waiting and special equipment (a spring-form pan) and special treatment (a water bath in the oven!). So I probably won’t be making it again anytime soon. That said, however…YUM. Totally worth it…every five years or so.

Also, it gave me an opportunity to break out my glass cake stand, which I don’t get to do too often. This photo exists only because of a camera phone and some quick thinking; I did not bring home any leftovers. Victory!

Leave a comment

Filed under food, holiday

Leave a Reply

