Most Best

“Those are some of the most best…I can’t finish that sentence. Those are some of the most best cookies I have ever had in my entire whole life.”

The above reaction was in response to the above cookies – that is, the chocolate chip cookies made from the Good to the Grain recipe. This recipe involves whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and calls for bittersweet chocolate instead of semi-sweet; the cookies are larger and the bake time is longer than the Tollhouse recipe, my usual standby, but Oh. My. God.

They are insanely good. Thank you, Kim Boyce, for creating such a recipe and writing such a book. I hope the yeast I just used in your recipe for Oatmeal Sandwich Bread was alive enough to make it work, or I will be, in the words of Prince Humperdinck, “very put out.” (Totally not your fault, though, Kim. Can I call you Kim?)

By the way, you will DEFINITELY want to have milk on hand to accompany these cookies. Or soy milk, almond milk, lactose – whatever your poison, have it on hand, ’cause these are some chocolatey cookies.

What I’m reading: A Visit From The Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan
What I’m listening to: Kelsey Morris

5 Comments

Filed under books, food

5 responses to “Most Best

  1. debbie

    ok. send me the recipe secretly. wouldn’t want to infringe on copyrights. or can i find it without getting the book?
    still jealous of you seeing that movie in a theatre. i can’t remember if i ever did.

  2. Pingback: Olive Oil Cake | IcyDaylight

  3. Pingback: Best of 2011: Humor and Baking « Jenny Arch

  4. Pingback: Best of 2011, Part the Second: Humor and Baking « Jenny Arch

Leave a Reply

