Cheddar-Chive Scones, and more from the kitchen

I won’t go so far as to say that grilled cheese and tomato soup, as a meal, can be improved upon, but if you feel like changing things up, try tomato soup with these cheddar-chive biscuits on the side.

Doesn’t look terribly appealing in the photo – again, indoor nighttime photography really is not flattering for food – but it’s quite tasty, I assure you.

Here’s a natural light photo of a vegetable quiche I made recently, with leeks, broccoli, and red bell pepper. Oftentimes I’ll cheat and buy a frozen crust, but this time the store was out, so I made my own. More work – for someone likes baking as much as I do, I have a strange aversion getting sticky dough all over my hands – but you can taste the difference.

Which is to say, my crust has more butter in it.

I also made those deviously good chocolate chip cookies from Good to the Grain again. And as everyone knows, if you give a mouse a cookie…

…he’s going to ask for a glass of milk. (Not that we have mice in the house. Just lots of allusions to children’s books. Actually, the infestation is getting rather out of hand.)

What I’m reading: Something Rotten, Jasper Fforde
What I’m listening to: Mozart’s Symphony No. 40, Eine Kleine Nachtmusik

1 Comment

Filed under food, recipe

One response to “Cheddar-Chive Scones, and more from the kitchen

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

