Virtual Bowl of Soup

On a horrendous (weather-wise) day like today, we should all be enjoying real, homemade soup. But here’s a virtual bowl, for those who haven’t got the real thing.

For those who want to make the real thing, I’ll do my best to recall the recipe  from memory here (I don’t have it written down in front of me). Credit where it’s due: I believe this recipe is from Susie Fishbein’s Kosher By Design.

Ingredients:
1 onion, chopped
1 28-oz. can crushed tomatoes
4-6 cups liquid (vegetable broth and water)
1 15-oz. can white (cannelini) beans
1 large or 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into bite-size pieces
about 2 cups chopped green beans (frozen is fine)
about 2 cups corn (frozen again)
olive oil
salt
pepper

I usually have two pots going; in the smaller pot, cook the sweet potato (reserve some of this water when draining; you may need it to thin the soup. If you’re using bouillon cubes, as I do, you can also cook the sweet potato in the broth and transfer it all over together). In the larger soup pot, saute the onion in the oil until it begins to soften, about 5 minutes. Then add the tomatoes and the cannelini, and sweet potato and broth/water. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Add the green beans. About 5 minutes before serving, add the corn. Season to taste.

If I have gotten anything tragically wrong, I’ll correct it in the next few hours, but I think it’s OK as is.

“I think it’s gonna be okay, Joe.”
“WHAT makes you think that?”
“Who knows where thoughts come from? They just appear!”
-Empire Records

1 Comment

Filed under food, movies, recipe

One response to “Virtual Bowl of Soup

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

