Hamentashen Cookies

I missed Purim by several days this year, but I did get around to making hamentashen; I always do. This year I substituted barley flour for half the all-purpose flour, and the dough held together well but was apt to stick to the mat and the rolling pin (problem solved with liberal sprinkling of extra flour on these surfaces). I don’t think this has anything to do with the barley flour, but then again, since I only make these once a year, I don’t remember well what’s normal.

As is true of so many things.

Anyway, without further ado, the recipe!

Ingredients:
4 cups all-purpose flour (or 2 cups AP and 2 cups barley)
2 cups sugar
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
Filling of your choosing (I used strawberry-rhubarb preserves)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Beat butter and sugar together; beat in eggs and vanilla. Add salt and flour, mix well. Roll the dough flat, to about 1/4″ thickness (I’m estimating here). Cut circles out of the dough with a cookie cutter or an upside-down cup; they should be about 3″ – 4″ in diameter (estimating again). Spoon some preserves into the center of each circle with a teaspoon, then fold the dough in on three sides, making a triangle. I use the pinwheel method; other people just pinch the edges together (see SmittenKitchen’s recipe here). Place the filled triangle cookies on a greased* cookie sheet, then bake for about 20 minutes or until light golden brown, rotating the sheet in the oven halfway through.

*I always use the butter wrappers left over from the butter in the recipe. If you have more wrappers than you need, you can fold them in half and stick them in the freezer to use later. Of course, this only works if you buy butter in individually wrapped 1/4 lb. sticks.

Hamentashen, as it turns out, are not particularly photogenic. Also, I am not the world’s best food photographer. Step-by-step pictures of the process would have been fun, but I made the cookies at night, and indoor food photography is no one’s friend.

Think of that black hole in the center as a black hole of deliciousness! These were great the night I made them (though you DO have to wait for them to cool after you take them out of the oven; the outside may feel cool enough to eat but the inside is still VERY HOT. Consider yourself warned). A few days later, the flavor is still good, but the cookies are pretty crunchy (maybe due to the barley flour?).

Off to New York this weekend for a long-overdue visit to former roommates and old friends!

What I’m reading: My Life in France, Julia Child
What I’m listening to: Surfer Rosa, The Pixies

2 Comments

Filed under food, holiday, recipe

2 responses to “Hamentashen Cookies

  1. I have Stella’s recipe if you ever want to try it – I make the dough & filling one day and assemble and bake the next. It’s a labor of love but totally, deliciously worth it.

  2. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

