Passover Popovers and Homemade Chocolate

Today was a beautiful day, and I woke up full of energy. I opened some windows, put my new plants out onto the porch for some sun, and started baking! A strange activity for Passover? Maybe, but King Arthur Flour helpfully posted this recipe for Passover Popovers. I made them in muffin tins (2 tins, 24 popovers) and they turned out really well. Only recipe I’ve ever seen that calls for an entire dozen eggs…

They are exceptionally tasty with apple butter, should you happen to have any hiding in your fridge.

I tried another new recipe today too – this evening an old friend came over for dinner, and for dessert I made homemade chocolate with a recipe from The Living Kitchen. It’s not on their website, I don’t think, but I hope they won’t mind me sharing it here:

Ingredients
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3 Tbsp maple syrup (or honey)
1 tsp vanilla extract
Optional: 6 drops of peppermint extract, or 2 Tbsp almond butter, or a sprinkling of cinnamon

Melt the coconut oil in a double boiler. (I just used my smallest saucepan inside a medium saucepan, which was half-filled with water.) Whisk in the cocoa powder, then syrup, then vanilla and mint or almond butter. Remove from heat and spoon or pour chocolate into empty ice cube tray. Freeze for 15 minutes.

This recipe yielded 6 chocolates for me. I also used 1/2 tsp mint extract – didn’t have a dropper – and they were in the freezer throughout dinner, so longer than 15 minutes. But they were fantastic, and really easy – I encourage you to try them!

What I’ve been reading: Room, Emma Donoghue; The Little Stranger, Sarah Waters
What I’ve been listening to: Belle & Sebastian

1 Comment

Filed under food, holiday, recipe

One response to “Passover Popovers and Homemade Chocolate

  1. Pingback: Recipe Roundup | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

