Make this, make this now

Right before Passover, a certain recipe was brought to my attention. This recipe, for Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie with Gruyere-Popover Crust, requires ramekins, which at the time I didn’t have. (Well, it would probably work in a regular pie pan, but then you don’t get to say the word “ramekins” as much, which is too bad because it really rolls right off the tongue, and also, ramekins are adorable, and if your food can be both delicious AND adorable…there’s no reason not to make that happen, right?)

Anyway, while I was in New York for Passover I went to Fishs Eddy and acquired some ramekins. Which I then proceeded to leave at a cousin’s house. But he very kindly mailed them back to me, carefully wrapped in an entire issue of The New York Times, which is a pretty foolproof wrapping method for breakable objects, apparently, because they arrived intact. And then there was nothing standing between me and tiny delicious pot pies!

I tampered with the recipe, of course. I completely forgot the onion and the garlic, which I’d recommend including if you aren’t so scatterbrained as I am. I did use carrots, broccoli, peas and corn, potatoes, and chicken, as well as salt and pepper, and some fresh chives from my chive plant.

The crust/popover part of the recipe I did follow. And…

I’m making them again tonight.

What I’ve been reading: Born Digital, John Palfrey; The Lover’s Dictionary, David Levithan

What I’ve been listening to: Chicago 17 and Chicago 19, Chicago; Human Amusements at Hourly Rates, Guided By Voices; Live in Japan, George Harrison; Volume 1, Traveling Wilburys

2 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

2 responses to “Make this, make this now

  1. mom

    must get me some ramekins!

  2. Liz

    I have so many ramekins. They’re so handy!
    That was nice of Rob (I assume) to ship them back to you.

Leave a Reply

