Restaurants and Bookstores

When I travel, I am most interested in food and in independent bookstores. I will happily visit museums, architectural wonders, castles, etc., but left to my own devices: food and bookstores.

Crescent City Brewhouse.

The Librarie Bookshop. I found a list of bookstores at NewOrleansOnline and marked them on a map I printed out.

This note was pinned up at the end of a bookshelf inside the Librarie: “A novel by definition is fiction. There is no such thing as a nonfiction novel. -Marvin Oster Berry, Oxford – 1863.” Refreshing to see for anyone who has had to explain this to someone looking for a “nonfiction novel” (or a “fiction novel,” which is just redundant).

Beckham’s Bookshop, interior. Lovely, old, books to the ceiling.

Crescent City Books, where I resisted acquiring a copy of Goya’s Los Caprichos. To be fair, I did leave home with one book and return with seven.

Everyone loved the cat upstairs on the couch. Everything a bookstore should be!

The Roosevelt Hotel, home of the Sazerac Bar.

The Sazerac itself. A beautiful bar with beautiful (if no-longer-politically correct) murals. Also, I met some very nice librarians there, from the University of Maryland and the Smithsonian and Minnesota State University.

Cafe Beignet, where one can procure sweet tea, if one so desires.

The Camellia Grill. Very good milkshakes.

Faulkner House, where William Faulkner wrote his first novel.

There is a bookstore here too, but I didn’t get to go; they weren’t open as late as Crescent City Books and Pirate’s Alley was too small to be marked on my print-out map.

Coming soon: signs of all kinds.

What I’ve been reading: Bossypants, Tina Fey; The Fates Will Find Their Way, Hannah Pittard
What I’ve been listening to: Lost and Gone Forever, Guster; Exile on Main Street, Rolling Stones

Leave a comment

Filed under books, elsewhere, food

Leave a Reply

